「生き残った男の子」 : Grammar : だ

プリベット通り四番地の住人ダーズリー夫妻は、「おかげさまで、私どもはどこから見てもまともな人間です」というのが自慢だった。不思議とか神秘とかそんな非常識はまるっきり認めない人種で、まか不思議な出来事が彼らの周辺で起こるなんて、とうてい考えられなかった。

プリベット とおり よんばんち の じゅうにん ダーズリー ふさい は、 「おかげさまで、 わたし ども は どこから みて も まとも な にんげん です」 と いう の が じまん だった。 ふしぎ とか しんぴ とか そんな ひじょうしき は まるっきり みとめない じんしゅ で、 まかふしぎ な できごと が かれら の しゅうへん で おこる なんて、 とうてい かんがえられなかった。

Past grammar: は and が

Grammar

Today we talk about the copula だ. In the above text, the copula is obviously used twice in the clause:

「おかげさまで、私どもはどこから見てもまともな人間です」というのが自慢だった

The less obvious usage of the copula is shown in the first clause of the second sentence:

不思議とか神秘とかそんな非常識はまるっきり認めない人種、。。。

In our HP text, we find three different forms of the copula: です、だった and で.  です is the formal non-past form, だった is the infinitive past form, and で is its te-form.

We have also encountered the copula in the previous post:


Watashi

wa
学生です
gakusei desu.
(I am a student.)

The non-formal infinitive (non-past) form is だ (da) which is the title of our grammar post. So we can change the above sample sentence to 私は学生。 (I am a student.).

The non-formal infinitive negative form is ではない (dewanai). The colloquial form of which is じゃない (janai). You will encounter the colloquial form very often. Our sample sentence can then be converted to 私は学生ではない。(I am not a student.) or 私は学生じゃない。for the colloquial equivalent.

The equivalent formal form of だった is でした.

私は学生だった。
私は学生でした。
(I was a student.)

The te-form で however is only used to modify or connect.

Below is the conjugation table for the copula da:

Inf.
Nonpast

Inf. Neg. Nonpast Inf. Past Inf. Neg. Past Condition Te-form

Prenominal

ではないじゃない だった ではなかったじゃなかった なら(ば)であれば

の/である

です ではありませんじゃありません でした ではありませんでしたじゃありませんでした

You can find the above conjugation table in the book A Dictionary of Basic Japanese Grammar (p.580).

は, が, の, and だ are very important things to learn in the Japanese language.

Below is a shortlist of our previous vocabulary which will be of interest to us in our next lessons:

見て(見る) – to see
そんな – such
認めない (認める) – disapprove (to recognize, to approve)
考えられなかった (考えられる) – unthinkable (to think)

Source:

A Dictionary of Basic Japanese Grammar
ハリー・ポッターと賢者の石

Harry Potter copyright owned by JK Rowling
translated by 松岡佑子
published by 静山社

Leave a Reply

